​There are four stages to each breath cycle. ​

  • ​Inhale - In breath
  • ​Top of the Breath
  • ​Exhale - Out breath
  • Bottom of the breath

​We will learn specific techniques to employ at each stage of your breathing cycle.

Inhale - The IN breath

Air moves into your upper body in a continuous, smooth and easy flow.  The lungs fill and the chest expands.

Top of the Breath

​The end of the inhale is called the, “Top of the Breath”.  

It is not a set amount of air, but a location at the end of the inhale, before the exhale begins.

Exhale - The OUT breath 

​The chest gently deflates downward as the air leaves the lungs.

 The breath leaves the chest and nose in a steady, even flow. With no jerking of moving in the vocal core.

The vocal core contracts evenly. All points remain open and rested. And no added effort in the vocal core.

Bottom of the Breath

The end of the exhale, is called the, “Bottom of the Breath”.

It is a designation of a place in the breath cycle, and does not indicate a specific volume or capacity.


  • ​Name each stage of the breathing cycle. 

  • Remain mindful for the entire breathing cycle.
    You are able to ‘track’ each degree of an in and out breath in the vocal core, without letting your mind wander. 

  • Larynx is passive. Breaths are silent. 

  • All ​vocal locks remain in rested position. They move in response to the in and out flow of the breath cycle in the upper respiratory/chest​, but there is no effort to push the air out or draw the breath in.
Sorry, but you're not allowed to access this unit.